origami ombre

The beginning of a new series of origami constructions, I call this ombre. Made from 12 different papers in tones of white, ivory & grey. Included in this mix: vintage book papers, sheet music, beautiful Japanese papers & papers with metallic & pearlized finishes. All folded into small hounds tooth shapes that fit together like a large tessellation.
BWieler origami houndstooth b
I refurbished the vintage frame with matte black lacquer & rebuilt the interior into a shadow box allowing space for the 3D sculptural form. There is a smaller version available at Cobalt Gallery in Toronto as part of Annette’s Holiday Festival Group Show. I’m looking forward to making more!
BWieler origami houndstooth a
I’m happy to discuss your custom project.
Contact me here: bookBW@hotmail.com

About Benjamin Wieler

artist / designer - my blog: https://bwieler.wordpress.com/ - my shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/bookBW - find me on instagram: https://instagram.com/bookbw/
This entry was posted in new work, work in progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

