LANDSCAPE | PORTRAIT

A call for submission for a new group show titled LANDSCAPE | PORTRAIT meant time for thoughtful experimentation & executing an idea I had been considering. Articulations posed a challenge to work with their 4.5 x 9 inch gessoed panels & create pieces with the only stipulation being that the art fit on the surface on the panel. I decided to do a remix on the landscape of Toronto, to create a portrait of my city by reconfiguring neighbourhoods I both lived & worked in. I cut up maps of the city and coated the papers with metallic washes to create geometric patterns of skewed building blocks, towering puzzles, and star constellations along my re-imagined north shore of Lake Ontario.

The show runs from Thursday August 11th to Sunday August 28th, 2016 at the Earl Selkirk Gallery in Articulations. Reception August 11, 7-9pm. See you there!

BWieler City of Toronto Rg

City of Toronto reconfigured, panels III, II, & I, Benjamin Wieler, 2016, map paper collage with acrylic on wood panel

BWieler City of Toronto R1

City of Toronto Reconfigured I, Benjamin Wieler, 2016, map paper collage with acrylic on wood panel

BWieler City of Toronto R2

City of Toronto reconfigured II, Benjamin Wieler, 2016, map paper collage with acrylic on wood panel

BWieler City of Toronto R3

City of Toronto reconfigured III, Benjamin Wieler, 2016, map paper collage with acrylic on wood panel

About Benjamin Wieler

artist / designer - my blog: https://bwieler.wordpress.com/ - my shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/bookBW - find me on instagram: https://instagram.com/bookbw/
This entry was posted in new work, Show & Sale, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

