2015 print exchange with The Sketchbook Project

BWieler carbon galaxy 2 (3)xThe people from The Sketchbook Project posted a new challenge with their 2015 Print Exchange: I send them an edition of 11 prints based on this years theme: Greetings from a Distant Land. In return I receive 10 prints from other artist participants from around the world. The 11th print is archived in the collection of the Brooklyn Art Library.

It’s perfect timing as I had been working on a new print process… making origami shapes using carbon paper, sandwiching the shapes between paper and rubbing it with the back of a spoon, producing 2 almost mirrored prints at the same time. Each creased edge is revealed including hose hidden within the folded layers of the origami. Just the areas with no carbon remain white. This print I call Carbon Galaxy 2… (a greeting from a very distant land)
BWieler carbon galaxy 2 (5)xBWieler carbon galaxy 2 (1)xBWieler carbon galaxy 2 (7)x BWieler carbon galaxy 2 (6)x
Now which side will I submit to the project… A or B? Whichever I don’t submit, I will have available for sale at some point, along with 2 sets of artist proofs with bot A & B. Inquiries via bookBW@hotmail.com

find me on Instagram as bookBW.BWieler carbon galaxy 2 (8)x

About Benjamin Wieler

artist / designer - my blog: https://bwieler.wordpress.com/ - my shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop/bookBW - find me on instagram: https://instagram.com/bookbw/
This entry was posted in new work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment